Wanted: Coding is Not a Crime stickers

A few years ago, along with many of you code-composing, free-and-open-Internet-loving hackers out there, I happily plunked down my hard-earned cash (in the form of a credit card online, but you can’t really plunk down plastic, can you?) and received from the Electronic Frontier Foundation a number of stickers including one with the words Coding is Not a Crime.

One of my Coding is Not a Crime stickers adorns my laptop of the era, one is filed away somewhere I can’t find at the moment, and one I remember giving away to a friend. Perhaps my favorite sticker of all time, I had no doubts that the EFF would continue to make them and we donation-willing sort would continue to pay perhaps a little above market price for them, happy to fill the coffers of the Defenders of our Digital Rights in the process.

But, alas, the stickers are no more. As I grieved while at Libre Planet a couple of weeks ago, the EFF hasn’t sold the stickers for several years.

The current EFF sticker pack goes for $8 and includes stickers with the words

EFF.org, FREE SPEECH, PRIVACY, FAIR USE, INTERNATIONAL, INNOVATION, E-VOTING RIGHTS, R.I.P. DRM LOL, COME BACK WITH A WARRANT, and DEFENDING RIGHTS IN THE DIGITAL WORLD.

All of the work done by the EFF is important, and some of the current sticker slogans are even a bit catchy, but I still think that nothing (yet) tops the Coding is Not a Crime stickers. Slapping one of these suckers on the lid of your laptop is a great way to announce your support of programming freedom and can lead to lots of interesting discussions with others. I’ve personally had people come up and complement me on the sticker, so for you shy folks out there who want to become a little more social, these stickers would be great.

So here’s what I’m thinking: Someone should make another run of these stickers — either the EFF or some interested individual. Hmm…I guess I just volunteered myself, didn’t I? Well,I’ll try to find a moment today and see how much it would cost to get bumper stickers printed up. It can’t be that much, can it?

If you have an idea for a better sticker than Coding is Not a Crime, work for the EFF and want to produce this sticker again, think that Coding IS SO a Crime, or just want to sell me pills to enlarge the mortgage on my luxury watch, leave a comment below. I may even read it!*

–Q

* Ha, ha, no! April Fools! — Why would I read your silly comments?

Leave a Reply

